Between Racism and Ignorance

This evening, I came across this post from Humans of New York where a Muslim woman named Zahra recounted her experiences covering the 2016 election (bold emphasis mine)

I covered a lot of Trump rallies as a journalist. I didn’t feel any hatred. People were more curious than anything. I was never assaulted. I felt like most people were just supporting him because he wasn’t part of the establishment. Or because they were tired of politics. But it was confusing. Because even though I didn’t feel like they hated me, these people were supporting someone who said I should be banned from the country.

I’m not sure which scares me more.  The fact that so many White Supremacists have come out in support of Trump or the fact that voters cast their lot with him for the sheer sake of going someone “different”.  They willfully ignore his bigotry, sexism, and petulance, and they outright embrace his unhinged ranting and raving as some kind of down-to-earth honesty.  This shortsightedness, this delusion, this cognitive dissonance is another facet of the ever rising Idiocracy in America.  Trump is the walking price tag of American anti-intellectualism and so many innocent people may end up paying dearly.

Whenever a politician would get caught in a scandal, my Mom often wanted to ask said politician “You’re either corrupt, incompetent, or both.  So which is it?”

To the people who voted for Trump, even after a deluge of thoroughly unpresidential antics, I say….you’re either racist, ignorant, or both.  So which is it?

 

 

Leave a Reply

