E tu, Barnes & Noble?

Today I hit Barnes & Noble to pick up Red White and Blood by Christopher Farnsworth.  I was trying to find my way to the Horror section when I noticed this:

When I asked a B&N clerk where I could find the Horror section she told me that all Horror titles had been moved into either Fiction or Sci-Fi/Fantasy.  She kindly looked up the title I was looking for and helped me find it.   I bought my copy of Red, White, and Blood got out of there.

I get it, B&N needs to make money, just like any other bookstore in a world of Amazon and e-readers.  Yes, the recent crop of schmaltzy novels aimed at teenage girls are selling big.  But why brush aside the interests of Horror fans so rudely?  Don’t get me wrong, I can appreciate romance mixed with paranormal elements when it is done right, but not when it is chock full of wretched misogyny.

So I leave you with this open letter:

Dear Teen Paranormal Romance Fans,

You wouldn’t be enjoying that stuff had it not been for all the stuff that we enjoy having been there first.  We were here before you and we’ll be here when you move on to something else.

sincerely,

Horror Fans.

Leave a Reply

